Skip to content

McCain on Military Equality

April 14, 2008

McCain was talking about, among other things, race relations today and said:

I know we have a long way to go in relations between the races. I’m very proud of where we have come from. It was brought home to me when I visited Memphis the other day on the occasion of the anniversary of one of the great tragedies of our time, and I understand that we’ve got a long way to go. I look back with great pride at what we’ve done in America and the progress we’ve made. Particularly in the military, I’m very proud of the equal opportunity that we provide to a lot of Americans in the military today, and I’d like to see the rest of American continue and there’s a lot that needs to be done.

I find it fascinating that when he talks about equal opportunity in the military he says it’s provided for “a lot” of Americans and not all. Suppose he has “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” in mind?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

