Skip to content

Economists, e-schmonomist…

May 4, 2008

On This Week with George Stephanopolous Clinton was pressed on her position on the gas tax and asked to name one economist who supports her position. After dodging the question, Stephanopolous asked again and she said:

“You know, I’ll tell you what. I’m not going to put my lot in with economists because I know if we did it right-if we actually did it right-if we had a president who used all the tools of the presidency then it would be implemented effectively.”

Again, I think it’s interesting that Clinton is being Bush-like in her willingness to insult experts on this issue to come across as a populist. The first question in the town hall came from a self-identified Obama supporter who outlines several of the arguments against the gas tax pretty effectively and says, “call me crazy, but I actually listen to economists because they know what they’ve studied.” Ouch.

UPDATE:  Looks like I’m not the only one who noticed some of these points.  This further outlines her hits on the “elite.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

