Skip to content

Boycotting the DNC and OFA

November 16, 2009

New Left Media produced a short documentary on the last two days of the No on 1 campaign, and posted it in two parts on Youtube.  Worth a watch and it raises an issue that I’ve neglected to blog about  so far (among other things).  That is the proposed boycott of Organizing for America (formerly Obama for America) and the DNC.  The full info on the boycott, or “pause,” is at AMERICAblog.

Here is the long and short of the effort:

We are asking voters to pledge to withhold contributions to the Democratic National Committee, Organizing for America, and the Obama campaign until the Employment Non-Discrimination Act (ENDA) is passed, Don’t Ask Don’t Tell (DADT) is repealed, and the so-called Defense of Marriage Act (DOMA) is repealed -– all of which President Obama repeatedly promised to do if elected.

Here’s my take: I think the idea of pausing in our donations is a great one.  However, it does mean that we need to be more informed about the individuals to whom we should direct our donations (which we really should do anyway…).  People like Rep. Chellie Pingree Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand and Rep. Patrick Murphy who have been incredibly strong leaders and advocates for equality issues.  Groups like the Victory Fund can also help us identify these politician.  The key is that we keep giving in the mean time, just not through OFA or the DNC.

Do I agree with all the reasoning behind the fundraising “pause?”  No.  If you look back at my posts since I began blogging here, you’ll see that I disagreed pretty strongly with some of the complaints listed at AMERICAblog.  Given the extraordinary times we’re witnessing right now, I give Obama a bit more wiggle room than some.  However, the DNC and OFA have made some big faux pas.  ESPECIALLY their silence on Question 1.

The only other qualifier I’d add to my support for this “pause” is the point at which I’ll start donating again.  I’m on board until 2 of these three happen.  Again, these are all long overdue steps, but we live in extraordinary times.  One important step has already been taken in the signing of federal Hate Crimes Legislation, and I don’t think that should be overlooked.  I don’t consider this settling; I think it’s a sad reality and I recognize the huge strides that will have been made with the passage of any two of these.

You can sign up here.

Part 2:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

