Skip to content

More Bigotry from FL Gubernatorial Candidate McCollum

August 10, 2010

I wrote a few weeks ago about Florida’s Attorney General and candidate for Governor Bill McCollum and his stand to ban allowing gay parents to adopt.  Now, he wants to ban gay couples from providing foster care.  But here’s what kills me: in this attack on gay families, he also attacks single parents.  This isn’t the first time that single parents are called inferior.  Any claim that you need both a mother and father is insulting to millions of divorced and widowed families, and its a common refrain among conservatives who oppose marriage equality (even claiming kids of single parents are 20 times more likely to commit a crime).

I really don’t get why this hasn’t offended more people and why it’s not used in campaigns against politicians who recite these ridiculous talking points.  Here’s McCollum’s response on gay foster parents (emphasis added):

Q: Should the law [allowing gay couples to serve as foster parents] be changed?

McCollum: I think that it would be advisable. I really do not think that we should have homosexuals guiding our children. I think that it’s a lifestyle that I don’t agree with. I realize a lot of people do. It’s my personal faith, religious faith, that I don’t believe that the people who do this should be raising our children. It’s not a natural thing. You need a mother and a father. You need a man and a woman. That’s what God intended.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

